Better than a Purple Cow

To our delight, a lone blackberry bush surprised us by producing some wonderful blackberries. During the extended drought some wild blackberry bushes around our pond had not produced in the last few years and finally died. The rain we had this Spring was just enough to bring back one of the bushes.
John brought me what was probably about 2 cups of the delicious berries. I know he loves blackberry cobblers but I was looking for something new to try. The Oklahoma August heat arriving in June brought a desire for something cold. I decided to explore the world of smoothies. I’m not sure why I’ve never tried making smoothies, such an easy way to get in extra fruits and vegetables. I started with this basic recipe:
2 bananas
1 cup blueberries
1/2 cup blackberries
1 cup vanilla yogurt
about 5 or 6 ice cubes

Some recipes called for additional liquid but I love the thickness, which can be adjusted by the ice cubes. No additional sweetener is needed. It’s like a thick creamy shake. It’s a wonderful way to use up the bananas that I’m buying at Aldi’s right now for .44 a pound. Peeling them first and freezing is a great way to keep them for future smoothies. This was a real hit with the grandkids who probably thought it tasted like ice cream.

I have switched out the fruit combinations using peaches and strawberries but keeping the bananas as the creamy base. I plan to add spinach or kale to the mix for a healthy green smoothie.

Because I’ve started making on a regular basis and was making trips to the store just for yogurt, I decided to pull out my recipe for no-fail yogurt. Making your own is cheap, easy and has no added sugar, so healthier.

To a crock pot I add one gallon of whole milk and put it on low for 2.5 hours. The best time to start this is in mid afternoon. Turn off the heat, leave on the lid and let it sit for 3 hours. Whisk in 6 ounces of yogurt that has live starter. Cover with a large towel and put it to bed. In the morning you have yogurt! This can be cut in half if it’s too much for your needs.

So glad I finally decided to try this simple healthy drink. It tastes decadent and refreshingly cool going down. Do you have a favorite recipe you would be willing to share with me?

Leave a Reply

