Turkeys and Tornadoes Calling

Last week and through yesterday the weather reports were indicating that we had a very high chance of experiencing severe weather, including large hail and tornadoes.  It’s April, nothing unusual for Oklahoma.  A few weeks back, I had cleaned  our cellar. Tornado Season Has Arrived! My son and his family of 5 would be joining us since they don’t have a storm cellar.  So I rearranged the cellar the day before to make sure there would be plenty of room for everyone along with our 2 dogs.  I decided to order pizza so we wouldn’t have to worry about cooking or cleaning since predictions were indicating the storm could arrive around 5:00pm.

Earlier in the day I went to my BSF bible study thinking everything would be under control when I came back home.  Best laid plans. While I was gone, John was cleaning out a drainage ditch so that the heavy rain expected would flow through.  It began to thunder which caused some turkeys to begin gobbling.  Any loud noise will cause them to announce their location.  If I hear thunder, I automatically think “lightening, I’m done, in the house!”  But, the sound of turkeys and it’s turkey season, mean’s go get the gun for John!

When I came home, the proud hunter had a turkey that probably weighed about 25 pounds! John knows I do not clean fish or any wild game, just cook.  So he dressed and plucked.  Then it was my turn.  I’m only thinking about how am I going to cut up this turkey, find room to hold it until I can decide what to do with him and in enough time to get to the cellar!  I cut him up like you would a chicken and put the pieces in a large stock pot.  Fortunately, John’s small ice box in his shop was available to keep it refrigerated until the next day.

turkey

 

My plan is to make turkey jerky with one of the breasts, crock pot the legs and one of the  thighs for turkey pot pie and I’m going to try canning the other breast and thigh.  Wild turkey is much leaner than ones you would buy at the grocery store.  Turkey jerky is very good and I’m expecting the crock pot and pressure canning will produce a tender meat.  I love chicken that’s been pressure canned.  It actually improves the flavor.

His beautiful feathers will be used for a display that will include red cedar.  This will be a gift for my sweet daughter-in-law who loves these displays along with the European deer mounts John makes.

 

So all turned out well.  We did make a trip to the cellar.  Some high winds passed over with only one broken branch of my crepe myrtle bush and a lot of turkey to eat!

Leave a Reply

