Fast, Frugal and Filling – or What’s for Dinner?

I have to admit it – cooking is not my passion, even though I do cook most nights of the week, 52 weeks a year.  That may come as a surprise since women on the prairie or Pioneer Women on the Osage prairie are supposed to be great cooks, while raising a large family, homeschooling and writing blogs and books. I’m just not that talented or energetic.  I do have a meat and potato kind of guy but he tolerates my food experiments.  Tonight’s experiment was an A+ so thought I would share.

Sometimes I’ll try a new recipe but tonight it had to be fast, frugal and filling.  I opened the freezer hoping a fully cooked meal would appear and found some chicken and broth I had frozen about a month ago.  This was actually the leftovers that were boiled to pick the last goodies from the bone.  I had a small amount of Amish noodles, along with some fresh mushrooms and some wild onions in a moment of soup inspiration.

wild onions

I love creamy soups; clam chowder, cream of chicken, creamy potato but I’ve learned to start with the basic white sauce to make them. It can also be used to make a delicious pot pie.  It seems to be a lost art with so many canned soups available at the store. A white sauce is cheap and can save a last minute trip to the grocery store.  So for those who’ve never tried:

  1. 3 Tablespoons butter
  2. 3 Tablespoons flour
  3. 1 cup milk, half/half, or chicken broth

The above recipe is equivalent to about 1 can of soup.  You can add any ingredients you have depending on your soup mood.

Melt butter over low heat, add the flour and cook until absorbed by the butter.  Add the liquid while whisking.  Continue stirring until the mixture is the right thickness.

Once I had my creamy soup base, I added all ingredients except the noodles.  I brought to a gentle boil and added the noodles and cooked for an additional 10 minutes.  I had some leftover cornbread muffins and even my meat and potato guy was happy!

Soup and cornbread

There really isn’t a recipe, since I just threw things into the pot, but if there was a recipe, it would be something like this:

Creamy Chicken, Mushroom and Noodle Soup

Makes Three 1 cup servings or 2 man size bowls

  1. 1/2 cup shredded chicken
  2. 1/4 cup chopped green onions or to taste
  3. 1/2 cup chopped mushrooms
  4. 2 cups chicken broth
  5. 2 teaspoons chicken broth base seasoning (better than the cubes)
  6. 1 cup white sauce
  7. 1/2 cup dried noodles
  8. Salt and pepper to taste

Make basic white sauce. Add all ingredients to the white sauce except noodles.  Bring to a gentle boil and add noodles.  Cook according to length of time given for noodles. Enjoy!

 

3 thoughts on “Fast, Frugal and Filling – or What’s for Dinner?

  1. Yummy sounds good and you’re right not too many people know how to make a white sauce or if you’re part of the Cajun culture it’s knowing how to make “rue”. Most Cajun recipes especially Gumbo and the like will start with “rue”. Thanks for sharing!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

