For Where your Treasure is…

February 29, 2016

More days have passed since I’ve written about my Lent journey.  I’m finding it’s more about what is gained than what is given up.  Giving up a few sodas and McChickens has been pretty easy.  It takes a little advance planning to pack some water and snacks when I go into town every Tuesday for Bible Study Fellowship. It’s amazing how quick this can add up.  I’ve gained health by giving up sodas and fast food.  I’ve gained an appreciation for the happiness it brings that such a small sacrifice is helping someone in their real need.

My grandaughters enjoy doing crafts so we created a beautiful jar for the money to donate to the Marland Children’s Home. It’s a lesson for them and me that giving to others in need should be a top priority for the daily walk of the Christian. Matthew 6:21 tells me, “For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.”  In addition to donating money, I need to include them in my daily prayers.

Childrens Home Jar

Leave a Reply

